Home » Cooking » Breaking (ginger)bread: Cherry Delight Bread

Breaking (ginger)bread: Cherry Delight Bread

If a ginger makes bread, does that make it gingerbread?

Aw, geez, I crack myself up sometimes.

No, but for real. I made bread. And it’s good! -well, in my opinion anyway-

I even -wait for it- tweaked the recipe and made it my own. And it still tastes good! I’m just as surprised as you are. But, there you have it. I really should buy myself a chef hat at this point. And an apron. I think I’ve earned them. Or gifts are always welcome. I might even give you some bread if you show up with one or the other. And definitely will if you show up with both!

Onward to the carb-fabulous bread loaf that I created with my own mind -the recipe- and conjured with my own tiny hands and stubby fingers.

Cherry Delight Bread Ingredients

Cherry Delight Bread Ingredients

My Recipe: Whole-wheat-flax-hemp-seed-cherry-delight Bread OR Cherry Delight Bread

1cup warm water
2¼ tsp dry active yeast (or one of those little yeast packets)
1tsp salt
1 ½ tbls applesauce
2½ tbls agave nectar
2 2/3 cups whole wheat flour
2 tbls hemp seeds
2 tbls milled flaxseed
1/3 to 1/2 cup dried cherries

 
Combine warm water, yeast, salt, applesauce, agave nectar, flaxseed, hemp seeds, dried cherries, and half the flour. Mix thoroughly. Let rise until it doubles in size.

Cherry Delight Bread - the beginning stages

The beginning stages

Gradually add the rest of the flour, kneading until smooth. Cover with a damp cloth and let rise again until doubled in size.

Cherry Delight Bread - dough

Cherry Delight dough ball

Punch down the dough and let rest for a few minutes -also great to release any additional stress. just don’t get too carried away- Shape into a loaf and place in a greased loaf pan. Let rise again until doubled in size. I covered mine with a damp cloth during this step as well.

Cherry Delight Bread - in bread pan

Ready for the oven!

Bake at 350°F for 35 to 50 minutes.

Hooray! You successfully made Cherry Delight Bread! Eat a piece while it’s still warm. Trust me. It’s, well, delightful! -and I’m just cheesy-

Cherry Delight BreadCherry Delight Bread
 

Cherry Delight Bread!!

 
 
The original recipe called for vegetable oil instead of applesauce,  3 tbls sugar instead of agave nectar, and white instead of wheat flour. It also didn’t have the flaxseed, hemp seeds, or dried cherries. I brilliantly added those. Essentially, you can put anything in the beginning stages of the dough depending on what type of bread you want. I put in flaxseed and hemp seeds for nutritional value (see my kickass article on seeds if you’re interested), and dried cherries for fun and flavor. You could add any sort of seed, fruit, nut, or whatever sparks your inner baker’s interest.

This bread is vegan friendly, but not gluten free. You could adjust the flour for the bread to make it so (I’m not sure if this would alter the amount of flour, baking time, etc.).

To be quite honest, I really had no idea what I was doing in the first place. I’ve never made bread before. I have zero idea how long the dough takes to ‘rise’ and ‘double in size’ during each step. I guesstimated. Next time, I think I’ll give it some more time. Probably 1-3 hours in between each ‘rising.’ I didn’t do that this time and it turned out a little thick (I think that’s the word I’m looking for). Dense. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still very tasty. I just can’t be perfect all the time. Rarely do I falter, though.

I’m sure I’d do much better with my chef hat. And/or apron. *hint hint*

Cherry Delight Bread

Cherry Delight Bread

3 thoughts on “Breaking (ginger)bread: Cherry Delight Bread

  1. Pingback: The Vegan Diaries - Removing The Rose-Colored Glasses - The Sisterhood of the Shrinking Jeans LLC

  2. Pingback: The Vegan Diaries – Removing The Rose-Colored Glasses | The Art of Burning Water

  3. Pingback: Vegan Diaries – Removing The Rose-Colored Glasses | The Art of Burning Water

Leave a Reply

