Home » Adventure » My Summer Bucket List 2013

My Summer Bucket List 2013

I am a list person. Always have been. When I have a ton of things to do, I make a list. When I am trying to learn something new, I make a list. Important events/dates? I make a list. Instructions: list. Directions: list. Sometimes, I even make a list for my lists…

That being said, I  have a bucket list for my life (which maybe I’ll share one day), but I thought it would be fun to do one just for the Summer. –Hooray for cliché blog posts!- There are some things that I have already completed, and will include anyway, but there are plenty more that I would like to do, or at least attempt to do.

  1. Brew and bottle beer #2. Done. It will be ready to drink by July 4! P.S. it’s DELICIOUS! And I’m not just saying that. Turned out way better than we thought!
  2. Hike a 14-er. I haven’t done this for a looooooooong time. Done. Hiked Mt. Elbert: elevation 14,443ft.
  3. Go camping.
  4. Water ski. Ok, ok attempt to water ski. Kind of done. Attempted to surf behind a boat. Lake surfing? Boat surfing?
  5. Go to a Rockies game. I can’t believe I haven’t been to one yet this Summer! DONE! I got to go to Todd Helton’s final home game. Ever. He has been my favorite player, and one of my good friends gave me a ticket right behind home plate. I also managed to snag a Todd Helton bobble head doll. It’s proudly placed in my window sill. 

IMG_0064[1] IMG_0082[1]

  1. Plant a veggie garden. Done (See Let Your Garden Grow!).  Above and beyond done. Reserve your squash and cucumbers now! We will have plenty to go around!
  2. Harvest and eat veggies out of our own garden. I cannot wait to do this! Done. And they are awesome!
  3. Get back in to a workout routine. It’s important to me, so I thought I’d include it. Mission hot bod by 26! Done! I even registered for a half marathon the day before my birthday! 
  4. Celebrate 1 year with my man. I know, *gag*. Ok, stopping the mush now. Done. 🙂 Starting over. I don’t need someone else to define who I am. Except for my dog. I’ll keep him.
  5. Catch a big fish and eat it. Here fishy, fishy, fishy.
  6. Move to a new house. This will be happening within the week. Wasn’t originally planned for the Summer, but flowing with life’s curveballs. Done. SO glad it’s done. 
  7. Hit a homerun. Done. If I could high-five myself I would.
  8. Go to a concert at Mishawaka Amphitheatre. I’ve never been!
  9. Buy a ticket to the Philippines. This will hopefully be happening soon for a trip in December! Done. Will be leaving Dec. 26. I love new adventures.
  10. Buy a new car. Done. Again, not originally planned.
  11. Create a budget list for myself and see where I can cut expenses (see #14 & #15). Done. Although it’s not going so well…
  12. Read 5 books. Didn’t quite hit 5, but I finished 3. 
  13. Water fight. ‘Nuff said.
  14. Learn how to compost. For the veggie garden of course.
  15. Unplug myself for a few days – no phone, computer, etc. I actually enjoy doing this.
  16. Take a road trip with no destination in mind. Hopefully I’ll end somewhere cool. Or lost. But I think that’s the point.
  17. Attend the local Sustainable Living FairActually, I will now be volunteering at it!!
  18. Go to a museum.
  19. Run a 5K. I’ve never officially done a race. Been training and running longer than a 5K. Signed up for a half marathon in September and a 10K in October.
  20. Go to a rodeo. I grew up going to them every Summer and haven’t been for a while.
  21. Take a night hike.
  22. Watch a sunrise. Yikes that’s early. Done. I always forget how breathtaking they are. Especially in Colorado. 
  23. See a meteor shower. Love watching these.
  24. Go to the Farmer’s MarketsDone. But will continue to go because I love them. 
  25. Spend some time outside every day. So far, so good.
  26. Learn a new skill. Done. Learning how to can and preserve!
  27. Attempt Geocaching.
  28. Go on a picnic.
  29. Make homemade granola bars.
  30. Go to an amusement park. I LOVE roller coasters!!
  31. Attend Film on the Rocks. I’ve only been to concerts here…never the movies.
  32. Go to the drive-in. I haven’t been in a long, long time.
  33. Do the brew tours. Again. Done. Always a good time.
  34. Actually ride my bike to work. ….if I can remember how to ride it. Jk (I hope).
  35. Take time to appreciate the little things.

Wow. I have a lot to do this Summer. Guess I better get started!

Maybe I should make a list about where to start….

summer[1]

4 thoughts on “My Summer Bucket List 2013

  1. Good post. We need to get together on some of these: geocaching, Mishawaka, composting. Heck yeah, Summer!

  2. Climbing the 14’r and camping and unpluging could all be one in the same as it might take awhile with your foot 8)

  3. Pingback: I Can Can. Can You? | The Art of Burning Water

Leave a comment