Home » Exercise » Half Marathon Birthday Present

Half Marathon Birthday Present

I’m not really sure what I was thinking.

Actually, I am. I think.

I was thinking about what I’ve had to deal with and overcome physically, mentally, and emotionally over the past five years, and that I wanted to make a statement to myself about what is possible.

With that personal insight being said: I’M RUNNING A FREAKING HALF MARATHON!!!! In three weeks!

The day before my 26th birthday, I will walk, run, crawl, be dragged, or cross that finish line in some other method after plodding my butt 13.1 very slow miles down the Poudre Canyon. I’m definitely not going for time as I’m currently running about 10 minute miles, I’m just going for completion.

I’ve never really been a runner, or enjoyed running, but I do love a challenge and trying something new, and this encompasses both. This will be the first race I’ve ever entered in or run. Most sane people would have started with a 5K, or maybe even a five-miler. Not me. -But if you read this blog often, you probably already have a good grasp of my level of sanity. Or insanity for that matter.-

The training has actually been more rewarding than I would have thought. I started going for runs about two months ago (just because – not for half marathon training); my 2.5 mile starting runs seemed hard and tedious. After slowly working up to five miles, I started contemplating a half marathon. The timing of this particular one was too perfect not to pass up.

My endurance is noticeably up – I’m not huffing and puffing and feeling like dying after three miles. Or even five for that matter (it comes full force around mile seven). It helps to have a running buddy who has been there with me every run and every step of the way, even though mine has four legs and a tail. I’ve also been cross-training with strength and endurance exercises, including CrossFit and boxing. My support system has been great, including friends, co-workers, family, and gym friends.

IMG_0763

My running buddy

It has been a little over two years since my last foot/leg surgery (the current tally being four), and after being told I would most likely never run again.

With three weeks to go, my long runs are at eight miles and increasing to nine this week. I never thought I’d be saying that. Ever.

I’m proud of myself for taking this on, keeping up with the training, and knowing that this is really going to happen. I will run it. I will cross the finish line. I will earn my medal. And I will drink free beer as my reward afterward (and probably a lot of it). Happy Birthday to me!

equinox medal

I think I’ll send my Orthopedist a ‘Thinking of You’ card with a picture of me crossing the finish line.

“It’s very hard in the beginning to understand that the whole idea is not to beat the other runners. Eventually you learn that the competition is against the little voice inside you that wants you to quit.” – George Sheehan

2 thoughts on “Half Marathon Birthday Present

  1. This really inspired me. Being told you won’t run again must have been devastating – I can’t even imagine. You’re up to 9 miles! That’s awesome.. keep going and let us know how the race went. Cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

